Week 7: Digital Story Telling Critique

I wanted to come back to my original inspiration for choosing my theme for this course, Dr. Brene Brown. I was delighted when I found this short animated film that overlays one of her talks.

  1. What types of “involvement” – and by the author/creator(s), participant(s), and/or audience – are apparent in this story?  I have watched many of her talks and I have always enjoyed them. However, with the addition of the animation overlayed with her words the differences between empathy and sympathy were more visual and effective. The animation brings the research to a visual realm that can be shared with new audiences of all ages. Young participants may grasp the concepts because of the characters displaying the emotions viscerally. I think this short animated digital story welcomes the audience into challenging the reactions to a pain that we have all experienced on some level, at some point. We can see ourselves in the characters more than if we were just listening to her speak. Personally, I found myself laughing when she is describing the reaction to my marriage is falling apart, this happened and it was never helpful.
  2. How would you characterize the “literacy dimensions” present in this story?  I think that this story allows the audience to cognitively take in empathy and sympathy and understand the subtle difference between the two concepts. I think the animation in the story and the visual portrayal of body language in the characters helps to enhance the emotions and the shared meaning of the information being described. I think the sound overlaid with the whimsical animals makes the connection and meaning of the lecture more relatable and less threatening for an audience that may be skeptical.
  3. What are the online spaces and sites that bring this story to life? Why do these spaces and sites matter to the impact of the given story? This video was found on YouTube, which I found by searching her name and cute digital stories. The video is accessible for people to find and watch. It is also not too long, which can make it hard to stay involved in the story. In further searching, this story can also be found on her personal branded website. I think that these spaces matter because an audience may find her work through Youtube and then go on to find out more about the author or voice in this case. I think this is easy for people who have access to the internet to view and use and therefore, it seems effective in reaching an equal audience who may be searching for this information.
  4. Based upon your assessment of involvement and literacy dimensions, what modifications and changes to this digital story might improve aspects of the narrative, production, media usage, and/or audience engagement?  I really think this digital story is integrated well into the voice or narrative. I thought the animator was able to convey the differences and emotional nuances of empathy and sympathy clearly. In this case, I wish it had been a bit longer. I found the abrupt end when entering the discussion of connection to cut off the storyline. I thought the quality of the production was good. The sounds were clear, the animation matched the sound and it was fluid and translated the meaning of the message clearly.
Leave a Reply

