Oprah Interviews kzetland

As I read this weeks reading, “New Literacies and Social Practices of Digital Remixing,” I’ll admit I was resistive. It felt like too many channels to create an artifact, too much new media. When I got to the section on Fanfiction, I actually stood up and shook off my fears of being confronted by a big furry mascot. While walking around I thought, “what is so bad about pen and paper, do we really need all these flashy platforms?” According to the article, “Remediating Democracy: Irreverent Composition and the Vernacular Rhetorics of Web 2.0.” the concept of the public sphere being discourse-based and inclusive of marginalized voices and multiple publics is discussed (McLauglin, E.). We currently see the battle between what Habermas would call universal access to the public sphere vs. the vernacular model of discourse. Digital remixing seems to even the playing field for who can participate in public, creative, and digital communication.

In an effort to embrace the concept of remix, I am going to take on something from my bucket list! Yes, Oprah Winfrey is going to interview me and Brene Brown. I may be a fan :-). This excerpt came from an original interview with Brene Brown, I am taking on the role/character of Kerri.

Oprah: But in the book you said—and I love this—that “vulnerability is the core, the heart, the center, of meaningful human experiences.” Let’s talk about that, Kerri what is your take?”

Kerri : In our daily lives we tend to shield ourselves from vulnerability, we wall up. I think that it is the times that we confront ourselves, open up, and get exposed we can grow. If we let the idea that being human requires vulnerability and be open to this in our everyday lives we can develop a more compassionate and resilient culture.

Oprah: Whoa.

Kerri: As opposed to pretending we are okay. I had what I called an “okay problem,” which is the immediate need to appear okay. I missed the depth of knowing how my community was  feeling.

Oprah: So vulnerability opens the door to greater intimacy?

Kerri: Intimacy cannot exist without vulnerability, in my opinion. However, keep in mind that I do not mean feeling vulnerable from fear, but from seeking to know oneself.

Oprah: You also write that “if we want greater clarity in our purpose or deeper and more meaningful spiritual lives, vulnerability is the path.” Can you explain?

Kerri: Brene, I just love the way you explain this.

Brené: People always say to me, “I want to go into the arena, but I’m scared. Can I take a little armor with me?” But one thing I have found in my life is that the only thing you need when you go in is clarity of values and faith. As in, “This is the article I wrote. And if you think I need to lose weight or that I suck, that’s okay. I’m standing on my faith and my values. You cannot knock me over.”

Oprah: You’ve talked about the original meaning of courage. Can you share that?

Brené: Yes, it’s from the Latin word cor, meaning “heart,” and so the original definition was to share all of yourself, share your whole story, with your whole heart. An act of courage was an act of storytelling, which I think is true. You know, I watch Super Soul Sunday, and I love when you talk about the ego. I call my ego my hustler.

Kerri: Courage, is about showing up and being seen. Seen in all our glory; the good, the bad, and the in-between.

Oprah: That’s a good term for it.

Brené: My ego says to me, “You have no inherent worth. You’ve got to hustle for it, baby. How fast you gonna run? How high you gonna jump? How many likes do you have on Facebook?”

Oprah: We live in a culture that measures us by how many likes we have on Facebook.

Brené: It’s a scarcity culture. We’re never thin enough, rich enough, safe enough. And you know—and I want to get your thoughts on this because you’ve looked in people’s faces for so many years—I started my research six months before 9/11. And I would say that the past 12 years have been marked by a deep fear in our culture. It’s like a collective post-traumatic response.

Kerri: I agree, I see and feel this. I would also like to add that we live in a comparison culture. Let’s be honest we share what we are enjoying most of the time or when there is a reason to share what most people would consider acceptable sadness. We don’t often share the daily struggles that play into the discourses we have with ourselves, with each other, or in the public space.
Oprah: Oh my God, I just had a big aha moment.

Kerri: Is that a tweet-tweet moment?

Read more: http://www.oprah.com/spirit/brene-brown-interviewed-by-oprah-daring-greatly#ixzz4ByZqsDlA

Dietal-McLaughlin, “Erin, Remediating Democracy: Irreverent Composition and the Vernacular Rhetorics of Web 2.0. June 18, 2017. http://www2.bgsu.edu/departments/english/cconline/Dietel/

 

 

 

Erin McLaughlin

Leave a Reply

